Snippet of D’Sean’s Interview Part III (Full Interview on Website)

Posted: July 6, 2011 in Uncategorized
Interviewer: You stuttered when I mention anal intercourse, why is that?
D’Sean: Well just the very act makes me relive the rape and molestation that occurred to me. For some people the act is pleasurable for me the act was violent and still has lasting effects on me.
Interviewer: D’Sean tell me about your childhood outside of the day you were molested.
D’Sean: Well I lived on small street in Northwest Baltimore. The whole block consisted mainly of single mothers trying to do the best they could with what they had but never asked for anything to be handed down to them and yet they demanded that they be treated with dignity and respect. These cornerstone values they instilled in me early on. I had everything that I needed and some of things that I wanted but again things were not handed down to me, I earned them.
Interviewer: What was the hardest thing you had to deal with when you came to grips that you were raped and molested?
D’Sean: First the realization that it indeed happened and from there the healing process could begin to take form. For me my molestation was a gift and a curse but gave me something tangible to hang my hat on so to speak. It gave me a clear explanation as to why my life was messed up; why I was so angry all of the time and why anything that mattered either left or was taken away. After the realization came the actualization meaning that I had to go and tell my family about it and then after that I had to tell them that I had wrote a book about the problems that it caused.
Interviewer: How did you family react?
D’Sean: How do you think? At first it was no that it did not happen; that was the more defensive minded reaction to what I was telling them. Once we got past that stage then came the tracing back of steps and remembering where they were when it happened. What I did not realize is that once I revealed that I was raped and molested that it made the very people who were supposed to protect me accountable and responsible for not doing the basic fundamental responsibility, which is to protect. My rape and molestation brought that failure to the forefront and was not readily accepted by my family because they had to admit that the failure occurred on their watch. As you can see, the dynamics from the act itself to telling my family that they failed me made it the hardest thing to come to grips with and accept. I also had to tell them that it was not their fault and that the predator picked his time correctly and no one is to blame for that. Predators are masters in picking the right time, the right place and the right victim; who can blame their family for that?
Leave a Reply

